MAIDSTONE BOROUGH COUNCIL

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF MAIDSTONE BOROUGH COUNCIL HELD AT THE TOWN HALL, MAIDSTONE ON 20 MAY 2009

PRESENT: Councillor Mrs Joy (The Mayor) and

Councillors Ash, Batt, Beerling, Mrs Blackmore, Bradshaw, Butler, Chittenden, Daley, English, Field, FitzGerald, Garland, Mrs Gibson, Mrs Gooch, Greer, Harwood, Hinder, Mrs Hinder, Horne, Hotson, Lusty, Marchant, Marshall, Mrs Marshall, Moriarty, Mortimer, Moss, Naghi, Nelson-Gracie, Paine, Mrs Parvin, Parvin, Paterson, Pollington, Mrs Ping, Mrs Pobertson, Poss, Same

Mrs Ring, Mrs Robertson, Robertson, Ross, Sams, Sellar, Sherreard, Mrs Stockell, Thick, Verrall, Vizzard, Ms Williams, Mrs Wilson, J A Wilson,

J Wilson, Wooding and Yates

APOLOGIES: Councillors Parr and Warner

1. <u>DISCLOSURES BY MEMBERS AND OFFICERS</u>

There were no disclosures by Members or Officers.

2. DISCLOSURES OF LOBBYING

There were no disclosures of lobbying.

3. ELECTION OF MAYOR

It was moved by Councillor Mrs Gibson, seconded by Councillor Sellar, supported by Councillor FitzGerald and

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That Peter Parvin, a Councillor of the Borough, be duly elected Mayor of the Borough of Maidstone until the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2010.

Councillor Parvin then made the Statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office which was duly witnessed in accordance with Section 83(3)(a) of the Local Government Act 1972.

THE MAYOR (COUNCILLOR PARVIN) IN THE CHAIR

4. <u>CONGRATULATIONS TO THE MAYOR</u>

The Mayor received congratulations on his election from scholars representing schools as follows:-

Max Knight and Larissa Whatt - Kingswood Primary School

Rebecca Jensen - Maidstone Grammar School for Girls

Tom Stapley-Bunten - Maidstone Grammar School

5. THE RETIRING MAYOR

It was moved by Councillor Sellar, seconded by the Mayor (Councillor Parvin), supported by Councillor FitzGerald and

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That the hearty thanks of this Council be given to Councillor Mrs Denise Joy and Mr Kenny Joy for the admirable discharge of their duties as Mayor and Mayor's Escort during the past year, and for their courteous approach to all sections of the community.

6. **EXEMPT ITEMS**

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That the items on the agenda be taken in public as proposed.

7. MINUTES

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That the Minutes of the meeting of the Borough Council held on 22 April 2009 be approved as a correct record and signed.

8. <u>APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR</u>

It was moved by Councillor Garland, seconded by Councillor Mrs Wilson, supported by Councillor Mrs Marshall and

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That Councillor Eric Hotson be duly appointed Deputy Mayor of the Borough of Maidstone until the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2010.

Councillor Hotson then made the Statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office which was duly witnessed in accordance with Section 83(3)(a) of the Local Government Act 1972.

9. MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

There were no announcements.

10. APPOINTMENTS TO THE CABINET

The Leader of the Council reported that his appointments to the Cabinet were as follows:-

Community Services - Councillor Mrs Ring
Corporate Services - Councillor Ash
Environment - Councillor Wooding
Leisure and Culture - Councillor Moss
Regeneration - Councillor Greer

11. DELEGATION OF EXECUTIVE FUNCTIONS

The Leader of the Council reported that the Scheme of Delegation of Executive Functions had been circulated for the Council's information. There were no changes to the existing arrangements.

12. ALLOCATION OF SEATS ON COMMITTEES

In accordance with Sections 15 and 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the Council considered the allocation of seats to each Political Group in relation to its various Committees. The Democratic Services Manager circulated a revised Appendix A to his report. He explained that notification had been received of a change in the size of the Conservative Group from 29 to 28 Members.

It was moved by Councillor Garland, seconded by Councillor Moss, that the allocation of seats on Committees be as set out in revised Appendix A to the report of the Democratic Services Manager with the following adjustments:-

Appeals Committee - 1 seat from Independents to Liberal Democrats

1 seat from Conservatives to Councillor

Ms Williams

- Strategic Housing Advisory Committee
- 1 seat from Independents to Liberal Democrats
- Joint Consultative Committee 1 seat from Independents to Liberal

Democrats

1 seat from Conservatives to Councillor

Ms Williams

 Planning Referrals Committee - 1 seat from Conservatives to Liberal Democrats

 Investigating Committee - 1 seat from Conservatives to Councillor Ms Williams

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That the allocation of seats on Committees be as set out in revised Appendix A to the report of the Democratic Services Manager with the following adjustments:-

 Appeals Committee
 1 seat from Independents to Liberal Democrats
 1 seat from Conservatives to Councillor Ms Williams

Strategic Housing Advisory - 1 seat from Independents to Liberal Democrats

• Joint Consultative Committee - 1 seat from Independents to Liberal

Democrats

1 seat from Conservatives to Councillor

Ms Williams

• Planning Referrals Committee - 1 seat from Conservatives to Liberal

Democrats

• Investigating Committee - 1 seat from Conservatives to Councillor

Ms Williams

(A copy of the amended allocation of seats on Committees is attached as Appendix A to these Minutes).

13. APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES

In accordance with Section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the Council considered the appointments to its Committees and Substitutes.

The Leader of the Council indicated that he wished to make the following adjustment to the lists circulated:-

 <u>Planning Committee</u>
 Delete Councillor Hinder as a Substitute Member of the Committee and insert Councillor Ross. It was moved by Councillor Garland, seconded by Councillor Moss, that the wishes of the Group Leaders with regard to the appointments to Committees and Substitutes be accepted.

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That the wishes of the Group Leaders with regard to the appointments to Committees and Substitutes be accepted.

14. STANDARDS COMMITTEE - PARISH COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVES

It was moved by Councillor Garland, seconded by Councillor Moss, that Councillor Mrs Ann Rollinson and Councillor Ian Younger be reappointed as Parish representatives on the Standards Committee until the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2012.

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That Councillor Mrs Ann Rollinson and Councillor Ian Younger be re-appointed as Parish representatives on the Standards Committee until the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2012.

15. <u>APPOINTMENT OF THE CHAIRMAN OF THE JOINT TRANSPORTATION BOARD</u>

It was moved by Councillor Garland, seconded by Councillor Mrs Stockell, that Councillor J A Wilson be appointed as the Borough Council's Chairman of the Joint Transportation Board for the Municipal Year 2009/10.

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That Councillor J A Wilson be appointed as the Borough Council's Chairman of the Joint Transportation Board for the Municipal Year 2009/10.

16. SCHEME OF DELEGATION FOR NON-EXECUTIVE FUNCTIONS

It was moved by Councillor Garland, seconded by Councillor Moss, that the Scheme of Delegation for Non-Executive Functions be agreed.

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That the Scheme of Delegation for Non-Executive Functions be agreed.

17. <u>DURATION OF MEETING</u>

11.15 a.m. to 12.30 p.m.