MAIDSTONE BOROUGH COUNCIL

LICENSING ACT 2003 COMMITTEE

MINUTES OF THE MEETING HELD ON THURSDAY 16 JULY 2009

<u>Present:</u> Councillor Sellar (Chair for the meeting) and Councillors FitzGerald, Mrs Gibson, Mrs Joy, Marshall, Mrs Parvin, Warner, Wilson and Yates

1. <u>APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE</u>

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor Hinder, Councillor Mrs Hinder and Councillor Naghi.

2. NOTIFICATION OF SUBSTITUTE MEMBERS

The following substitutions were noted:-

Councillor Butler for Councillor Mrs Hinder Councillor Wilson for Councillor Naghi

3. NOTIFICATION OF VISITING MEMBERS

There were no Visiting Members.

4. <u>ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN</u>

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That Councillor Sellar be elected Chairman until the next meeting of the Licensing Act 2003 Committee.

5. <u>ELECTION OF VICE CHAIRMAN</u>

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That Councillor Mrs Parvin be elected Vice Chairman until the next meeting of the Licensing Act 2003 Committee.

6. DISCLOSURES BY MEMBERS AND OFFICERS

There were no disclosures by Members or Officers.

7. DISCLOSURES OF LOBBYING

There were no disclosures of lobbying.

8. EXEMPT ITEMS

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That the items on the Agenda be taken in public as proposed.

9. <u>MINUTES</u>

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That the Minutes of the Meeting held on 7 April 2009 not be approved as a correct record and that they be amended and brought for approval at the next Meeting.

10. MINUTES OF THE LICENSING ACT 2003 SUB COMMITTEE

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That the Minutes of the Licensing Act 2003 Sub Committee Meetings held on 14 April 2008, 28 May 2008, 16 July 2008, 18 August 2008, 9 December 2008, 13 January 2009, 16 April 2009 and 15 May 2009 be approved as a correct record and signed.

11. APPOINTMENT OF POLITICAL GROUP SPOKESPERSONS

RESOLVED: That the Political Group Spokespersons be elected as follows:-

Councillor Sellar – Liberal Democrat Councillor Mrs Parvin – Conservative Councillor FitzGerald – Independent

12. LICENSING ACT 2003 COMMITTEE - REVIEW OF DEVOLVED POWERS

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That this item be deferred to the next meeting.

13. DURATION OF MEETING

9.30 p.m. to 9.45 p.m.