General election timetable


The pre-election restricted publicity period commences when the notice of election is published.

Election eventDate
Proclamation of summonsing new Parliament Thursday 30 May 2024
Dissolution of Parliament Thursday 30 May 2024
Issue of Writ Thursday 30 May 2024
Receipt of Writ Friday 31 May 2024
Publication of Notice of Election 4pm Tuesday 4 June 2024
Publication of Notice of Poll Friday 7 June 2024
Receipt of nominations 4pm Friday 7 June 2024
Withdrawal of candidate 4pm Friday 7 June 2024
Appointment of election agents 4pm Friday 7 June 2024
Publication of Statements of Persons Nominated 5pm Friday 7 June 2024
Publication of Notice of Election Agents 4pm Friday 7 June 2024
Last date for registration Tuesday 18 June 2024
Receipt of postal vote applications 5pm Wednesday 19 June 2024
Last day for Voter Authority Certificates 5pm Wednesday 26 June 2024
Receipt of proxy vote applications 5pm Wednesday 26 June 2024
Appointment of poll and count agents Thursday 27 June 2024
First Day to issue replacement lost postal ballot papers Friday 28 June 2024
Last Day to issue replacement spoilt or lost postal ballot papers5pm Thursday 4 July 2024
Receipt of emergency proxy vote applications 5pm Thursday 4 July 2024
Day of Poll 7am to 10pm Thursday 4 July 2024
Return of election expensesFriday 9 August 2024
Inspection of expensesSunday 18 August 2024

Printed and published by the Local Returning Officer, Maidstone House, King Street, Maidstone, Kent, ME15 6JQ