MAIDSTONE BOROUGH COUNCIL

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF MAIDSTONE BOROUGH COUNCIL HELD AT THE TOWN HALL, HIGH STREET, MAIDSTONE ON 16 MAY 2012

Present:Councillor B Mortimer (The Mayor) and
Councillors Ash, Beerling, Black, Mrs Blackmore,
Brindle, Burton, Butler, Chittenden, Collins, Cox,
Cuming, Daley, English, Garland, Mrs Gibson,
Mrs Gooch, Greer, Ms Griffin, Mrs Grigg, Harwood,
Mrs Hinder, Hogg, Hotson, Mrs Joy, Lusty, McKay,
McLoughlin, Moriarty, D Mortimer, Moss, Munford,
Naghi, Nelson-Gracie, Newton, Paine, Parvin,
Mrs Parvin, Paterson, Pickett, Mrs Ring, Ross, Sams,
Springett, Mrs Stockell, Thick, Vizzard, Warner,
de Wiggondene, J A Wilson, Mrs Wilson and Yates

1. PRAYERS

Prayers were said by the Reverend Canon Chris Morgan-Jones.

2. <u>APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE</u>

It was noted that apologies for absence had been received from Councillors Barned, Robertson and Mrs Robertson.

3. DISCLOSURES BY MEMBERS AND OFFICERS

There were no disclosures by Members or Officers.

4. DISCLOSURES OF LOBBYING

There were no disclosures of lobbying.

5. <u>ELECTION OF MAYOR</u>

It was moved by Councillor Lusty, seconded by Councillor Warner, supported by Councillor Mrs Gooch and

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That Rodd Nelson-Gracie, a Councillor of the Borough, be duly elected Mayor of the Borough of Maidstone until the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2013.

Councillor Nelson-Gracie then made the Statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office which was duly witnessed in accordance with Section 83(3)(a) of the Local Government Act 1972.

THE MAYOR (COUNCILLOR NELSON-GRACIE) IN THE CHAIR

6. <u>CONGRATULATIONS TO THE MAYOR</u>

The Mayor received congratulations on his election from scholars representing schools as follows:-

Jenna Aldrich	Yalding St Peter and St Paul CE Primary School
Harry Petch	Marden Primary School
Sally McConchie	Maidstone Grammar School for Girls
Alexander Rolfe	Maidstone Grammar School

7. <u>THE RETIRING MAYOR</u>

It was moved by Councillor Mrs Joy, seconded by Councillor Newton, supported by Councillor Parvin and

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That the hearty thanks of this Council be given to Councillor Mortimer and Mrs Mortimer for the admirable discharge of their duties as Mayor and Mayoress during the past year, and for their courteous approach to all sections of the community.

8. EXEMPT ITEMS

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That the items on the agenda be taken in public as proposed.

9. <u>MINUTES</u>

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That the Minutes of the meeting of the Borough Council held on 25 April 2012 be approved as a correct record and signed.

10. <u>APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR</u>

It was moved by Councillor Daley, seconded by Councillor Paine, supported by Councillor Mrs Gooch and

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That Councillor Clive Andrew English be duly appointed Deputy Mayor of the Borough of Maidstone until the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2013.

Councillor English then made the Statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office which was duly witnessed in accordance with Section 83(3)(a) of the Local Government Act 1972.

11. MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Mayor announced that the official opening of the new Town Square would take place at 12.15 p.m. on Friday 1 June 2012. He hoped that as many Members as possible would be able to attend.

12. ELECTION OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

It was moved by Councillor Greer, seconded by Councillor J A Wilson, that Councillor Garland be elected as Leader of the Council until the expiry of his term of office as a Councillor in 2016.

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That Councillor Garland be elected as Leader of the Council until the expiry of his term of office as a Councillor in 2016.

13. <u>APPOINTMENTS TO THE CABINET</u>

The Leader of the Council reported that his appointments to the Cabinet were as follows:-

Community and Leisure Services Corporate Services Economic and Commercial Development Environment Planning, Transport and Development

Councillor J A Wilson Councillor Hotson Councillor Greer

Councillor Mrs Ring Councillor Paine

14. DELEGATION OF EXECUTIVE FUNCTIONS

The Leader of the Council reported that an amended version of the Scheme of Delegation of Executive Functions had been circulated for the Council's information.

15. ALLOCATION OF SEATS ON COMMITTEES

In accordance with Sections 15 and 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the Council considered the allocation of seats to each Political Group in relation to its various Committees.

It was moved by Councillor Garland, seconded by Councillor Hotson:-

1. That the allocation of seats on Committees be as set out in Appendix C to the report of the Head of Democratic Services with the following adjustments:-

General Purposes Group	1 seat from Independent to Labour
Member and Employment and	1 seat from Liberal Democrat to
Development Panel	Labour

2. That the allocation of seats on the Standards Committee be:-

Conservative	3 seats
Liberal Democrat	2 seats
Independent	1 seat

RESOLVED:

1. That the allocation of seats on Committees be as set out in Appendix C to the report of the Head of Democratic Services with the following adjustments:-

General Purposes Group	1 seat from Independent to Labour
Member and Employment and	1 seat from Liberal Democrat to
Development Panel	Labour

2. That the allocation of seats on the Standards Committee be:-

Conservative	3 seats
Liberal Democrat	2 seats
Independent	1 seat

(A copy of the amended allocation of seats on Committees is attached as Appendix A to these Minutes).

16. <u>APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES</u>

In accordance with Section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the Council considered the appointments to its Committees and Substitutes.

It was moved by Councillor Garland, seconded by Councillor Paine, that the wishes of the Group Leaders with regard to the appointments to Committees and Substitutes be accepted.

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That the wishes of the Group Leaders with regard to the appointments to Committees and Substitutes be accepted.

17. <u>APPOINTMENT OF THE VICE-CHAIRMAN OF THE JOINT TRANSPORTATION</u> <u>BOARD</u>

It was moved by Councillor Garland, seconded by Councillor Paine, that Councillor J A Wilson be appointed as the Vice-Chairman of the Joint Transportation Board for the Municipal Year 2012/13.

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That Councillor J A Wilson be appointed as the Vice-Chairman of the Joint Transportation Board for the Municipal Year 2012/13.

18. SCHEME OF DELEGATION FOR NON-EXECUTIVE FUNCTIONS

It was moved by Councillor Garland, seconded by Councillor Greer, that the Scheme of Delegation for Non-Executive Functions be agreed.

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That the Scheme of Delegation for Non-Executive Functions be agreed.

19. DURATION OF MEETING

11.15 a.m. to 12.30 p.m.

APPENDIX A

Overview & Scrutiny Committees Member and Employment and Development Panel **General Purposes Group** Regeneration and Economic Development Licensing Committee Joint Transportation Board **Planning Committee** Planning Referrals Committee **Corporate Services Audit Committee** Overall Licensing Act 2 Committee Communities entitlement Con Lib Dem Ind Lab

ALLOCATION OF SEATS ON COMMITTEES