MAIDSTONE BOROUGH COUNCIL

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF MAIDSTONE BOROUGH COUNCIL HELD AT THE TOWN HALL, HIGH STREET, MAIDSTONE ON 18 MAY 2011

Present:Councillor Hotson (The Mayor) and
Councillors Ash, Barned, Beerling, Black, Mrs Blackmore,
Brindle, Burton, Butler, Chittenden, Collins, Cox, Cuming,
Daley, English, Field, FitzGerald, Garland, Mrs Gibson,
Mrs Gooch, Greer, Ms Griffin, Mrs Grigg, Harwood,
Hinder, Mrs Hinder, Hogg, Mrs Joy, Lusty, B Mortimer,
D Mortimer, Naghi, Nelson-Gracie, Newton, Paine,
Parvin, Mrs Parvin, Paterson, Pickett, Mrs Ring,
Robertson, Mrs Robertson, Ross, Sams, Sharp, Springett,
Mrs Stockell, Verrall, Vizzard, Warner, de Wiggondene,
J A Wilson, Mrs Wilson and Yates

1. MRS PAMELA BANKS

The Council stood in silence for one minute in memory of Mrs Pamela Banks, a former Mayoress of the Borough, who died on 9 May 2011.

2. <u>APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE</u>

It was noted that apologies for absence had been received from Councillor Thick.

3. DISCLOSURES BY MEMBERS AND OFFICERS

There were no disclosures by Members or Officers.

4. DISCLOSURES OF LOBBYING

There were no disclosures of lobbying.

5. <u>ELECTION OF MAYOR</u>

It was moved by Councillor Mrs Joy, seconded by Councillor FitzGerald, supported by Councillor Parvin and

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That Brian Richard Edwin Mortimer, a Councillor of the Borough, be duly elected Mayor of the Borough of Maidstone until the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2012.

Councillor Mortimer then made the Statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office which was duly witnessed in accordance with Section 83(3)(a) of the Local Government Act 1972.

THE MAYOR (COUNCILLOR B MORTIMER) IN THE CHAIR

6. <u>CONGRATULATIONS TO THE MAYOR</u>

The Mayor received congratulations on his election from scholars representing schools as follows:-

Evie Stevenson	-	Hunton School
Grace Houghton	-	Maidstone Grammar School
		for Girls
Sam Coppard	-	Maidstone Grammar School

7. <u>THE RETIRING MAYOR</u>

It was moved by Councillor Garland, seconded by Councillor Mrs Wilson, supported by Councillor FitzGerald and

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That the hearty thanks of this Council be given to Councillor Hotson and Mrs Hotson for the admirable discharge of their duties as Mayor and Mayoress during the past year, and for their courteous approach to all sections of the community.

8. EXEMPT ITEMS

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That the items on the agenda be taken in public as proposed.

9. <u>MINUTES</u>

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That the Minutes of the meeting of the Borough Council held on 27 April 2011 be approved as a correct record and signed.

10. <u>APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR</u>

It was moved by Councillor Lusty, seconded by Councillor Robertson, supported by Councillor Mrs Gooch and

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That Councillor Rodd Nelson-Gracie be duly appointed Deputy Mayor of the Borough of Maidstone until the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2012.

Councillor Nelson-Gracie then made the Statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office which was duly witnessed in accordance with Section 83(3)(a) of the Local Government Act 1972.

11. MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Mayor announced that:-

• He wished to congratulate Councillor Mrs Stockell on her election as Chairman of the Kent County Council for 2011/12.

- He also wished to congratulate all those Members who had been elected/re-elected to the Borough Council on 5 May 2011.
- He hoped that as many Members as possible would attend the Civic and Freedom Parade on Sunday 23 May 2011.

12. <u>APPOINTMENTS TO THE CABINET</u>

The Leader of the Council reported that his appointments to the Cabinet were as follows:-

Community and Leisure Services	-	Councillor J A Wilson
Corporate Services	-	Councillor Hotson
Economic Development and Transport	-	Councillor Greer
Environment	-	Councillor Mrs Ring

13. DELEGATION OF EXECUTIVE FUNCTIONS

The Leader of the Council reported that an amended version of the Scheme of Delegation of Executive Functions had been circulated for the Council's information.

14. ALLOCATION OF SEATS ON COMMITTEES

In accordance with Sections 15 and 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the Council considered the allocation of seats to each Political Group in relation to its various Committees.

It was moved by Councillor Garland, seconded by Councillor FitzGerald:-

1. That the allocation of seats on Committees be as set out in Appendix A to the report of the Head of Democratic Services with the following adjustments:-

General Purposes Group	1 seat from Independent to Conservative
Member and Employment and Development Panel	1 seat from Independent to Conservative
Joint Transportation Board	1 seat from Independent to Liberal Democrat

2. That the allocation of seats on the Standards Committee be:-

Conservative	3 seats
Liberal Democrat	2 seats
Independent	1 seat

RESOLVED:

1. That the allocation of seats on Committees be as set out in Appendix A to the report of the Head of Democratic Services with the following adjustments:-

General Purposes Group	1 seat from Independent to Conservative
Member and Employment and Development Panel	1 seat from Independent to Conservative
Joint Transportation Board	1 seat from Independent to Liberal Democrat

2. That the allocation of seats on the Standards Committee be:-

Conservative	3 seats
Liberal Democrat	2 seats
Independent	1 seat

(A copy of the amended allocation of seats on Committees is attached as Appendix A to these Minutes).

15. <u>APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES</u>

In accordance with Section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the Council considered the appointments to its Committees and Substitutes.

The Leader of the Conservative Group indicated that he wished to make the following adjustment to the lists circulated:-

• <u>Communities Overview and Scrutiny Committee</u>

Insert Councillor Butler as a Substitute Member of the Committee.

It was moved by Councillor Garland, seconded by Councillor Greer, that the wishes of the Group Leaders with regard to the appointments to Committees and Substitutes be accepted.

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That the wishes of the Group Leaders with regard to the appointments to Committees and Substitutes be accepted.

16. <u>APPOINTMENT OF THE CHAIRMAN OF THE JOINT TRANSPORTATION</u> <u>BOARD</u>

It was moved by Councillor Garland, seconded by Councillor Greer, that Councillor J A Wilson be appointed as the Borough Council's Chairman of the Joint Transportation Board for the Municipal Year 2011/12. <u>RESOLVED</u>: That Councillor J A Wilson be appointed as the Borough Council's Chairman of the Joint Transportation Board for the Municipal Year 2011/12.

17. SCHEME OF DELEGATION FOR NON-EXECUTIVE FUNCTIONS

It was moved by Councillor Garland, seconded by Councillor Greer, that the Scheme of Delegation for Non-Executive Functions be agreed.

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That the Scheme of Delegation for Non-Executive Functions be agreed.

18. DURATION OF MEETING

11.15 a.m. to 12.45 p.m.