MAIDSTONE BOROUGH COUNCIL

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF MAIDSTONE BOROUGH COUNCIL HELD AT THE TOWN HALL, HIGH STREET, MAIDSTONE ON 15 MAY 2013

<u>Present:</u> Councillor Nelson-Gracie (The Mayor) and

Councillors Ash, Barned, Beerling, Black,

Mrs Blackmore, Brindle, Burton, Butler, Chittenden, Collins, Cox, Cuming, English, Garland, Mrs Gibson, Mrs Gooch, Greer, Mrs Grigg, Harwood, Mrs Hinder, Hogg, Hotson, Mrs Joy, Lusty, McKay, McLoughlin, Moriarty, B Mortimer, D Mortimer, Moss, Munford, Naghi, Newton, Paine, Parvin, Mrs Parvin, Paterson, Pickett, Mrs Ring, Mrs Robertson, Ross, Sams, Springett, Mrs Stockell, Thick, Vizzard, Warner, Watson, de Wiggondene, J A Wilson, Mrs Wilson and

Yates

1. PRAYERS

Prayers were said by the Reverend Canon Chris Morgan-Jones.

2. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

It was noted that apologies for absence had been received from Councillors Daley and Mrs Mannering.

3. DISPENSATIONS

There were no applications for dispensations.

4. DISCLOSURES BY MEMBERS AND OFFICERS

There were no disclosures by Members or Officers.

5. DISCLOSURES OF LOBBYING

There were no disclosures of lobbying.

6. ELECTION OF MAYOR

It was moved by Councillor Chittenden, seconded by Councillor Paine, supported by Councillor Mrs Gooch and

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That Clive Andrew English, a Councillor of the Borough, be duly elected Mayor of the Borough of Maidstone until the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2014.

Councillor English then made the Statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office which was duly witnessed in accordance with Section 83(3)(a) of the Local Government Act 1972.

THE MAYOR (COUNCILLOR ENGLISH) IN THE CHAIR

7. CONGRATULATIONS TO THE MAYOR

The Mayor received congratulations on his election from scholars representing schools as follows:-

Harry Davies Bower Grove School

Freddie Barker Maidstone Grammar School

Hugo VanMol Maidstone Grammar School

Molly Willet Maidstone Grammar School for Girls

8. THE RETIRING MAYOR

It was moved by Councillor Lusty, seconded by Councillor Warner, supported by Councillor Mrs Gooch and

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That the hearty thanks of this Council be given to Councillor Nelson-Gracie and Mrs Nelson-Gracie for the admirable discharge of their duties as Mayor and Mayoress during the past year, and for their courteous approach to all sections of the community.

9. EXEMPT ITEMS

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That the items on the agenda be taken in public as proposed.

10. MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOROUGH COUNCIL HELD ON 24 APRIL 2013

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That the Minutes of the meeting of the Borough Council held on 24 April 2013 be approved as a correct record and signed.

11. APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR

It was moved by Councillor Garland, seconded by Councillor Mrs Joy, supported by Councillor Mrs Gooch and

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That Councillor Ian Richard Thick be duly appointed Deputy Mayor of the Borough of Maidstone until the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2014.

Councillor Thick then made the Statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office which was duly witnessed in accordance with Section 83(3)(a) of the Local Government Act 1972.

12. MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Mayor announced that Councillor Hotson was the Chairman Elect of Kent County Council for 2013/14, and he wished him well for the coming year.

13. APPOINTMENTS TO THE CABINET

The Leader of the Council reported that his appointments to the Cabinet were as follows:-

Community and Leisure Services Councillor J A Wilson Corporate Services Councillor Moss Economic and Commercial Councillor Greer

Development

Environment Councillor Mrs Ring Planning, Transport and Councillor Paine

Development

The Leader of the Council then reported that he had appointed Councillor Greer as his Deputy.

14. DELEGATION OF EXECUTIVE FUNCTIONS

The Leader of the Council reported that an amended version of the Scheme of Delegation of Executive Functions had been circulated for the Council's information.

15. ALLOCATION OF SEATS ON COMMITTEES

In accordance with Sections 15 and 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the Council considered the allocation of seats to each Political Group in relation to its various Committees.

It was moved by Councillor Garland, seconded by Councillor Hotson:-

- 1. That the Standards Committee be composed of nine Councillors, politically balanced (5 Conservatives, 3 Liberal Democrats and 1 Independent for 2013/14), and that the Constitution be amended accordingly.
- 2. That the allocation of seats on Committees be as set out in amended Appendix A to the report of the Head of Democratic Services with the following adjustments:-

General Purposes Group 1 seat from Independent to

Labour

Member and Employment and

Development Panel

1 seat from Independent to

Labour

RESOLVED:

- 1. That the Standards Committee be composed of nine Councillors, politically balanced (5 Conservatives, 3 Liberal Democrats and 1 Independent for 2013/14), and that the Constitution be amended accordingly.
- 2. That the allocation of seats on Committees be as set out in amended Appendix A to the report of the Head of Democratic Services with the following adjustments:-

General Purposes Group 1 seat from Independent to

Labour

Member and Employment and 1 seat from Independent to

Development Panel Labour

(A copy of the amended allocation of seats on Committees is attached as Appendix A to these Minutes).

16. APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES

In accordance with Section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the Council considered the appointments to its Committees and Substitutes.

The Leader of the Conservative Group indicated that he wished to make the following adjustment to the lists circulated:-

<u>Planning Committee</u> – Add Councillor Mrs Stockell as a Substitute Member of the Committee.

It was moved by Councillor Garland, seconded by Councillor Moss, that the wishes of the Group Leaders with regard to the appointments to Committees and Substitutes be accepted.

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That the wishes of the Group Leaders with regard to the appointments to Committees and Substitutes be accepted.

17. <u>APPOINTMENT OF THE CHAIRMAN OF THE JOINT TRANSPORTATION</u> BOARD

It was moved by Councillor Garland, seconded by Councillor Mrs Ring, that Councillor J A Wilson be appointed as the Chairman of the Joint Transportation Board for the Municipal Year 2013/14.

<u>RESOLVED</u>: That Councillor J A Wilson be appointed as the Chairman of the Joint Transportation Board for the Municipal Year 2013/14.

18. SCHEME OF DELEGATION FOR NON-EXECUTIVE FUNCTIONS

It was moved by Councillor Garland, seconded by Councillor Greer, that the Scheme of Delegation for Non-Executive Functions be agreed. $\underline{\text{RESOLVED}}\colon$ That the Scheme of Delegation for Non-Executive Functions be agreed.

19. <u>DURATION OF MEETING</u>

11.15 a.m. to 12.35 p.m.