Upcoming Elections and Results

Upcoming Elections

Marden and Yalding Vacancy

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that there is a vacancy in the office of Councillor for the Marden and Yalding Ward of the Borough consequent upon the resignation of Councillor McLoughlin.

Section 89(1)(b) of the Local Government Act 1972 as amended by the Local Government Act 1985 provides that an election to fill such vacancy shall be held after notice in writing of the vacancy has been given to the undersigned by two Local Government Electors for the area.

If an election is called, in accordance with the Coronavirus Act 2020 and the 2020 Regulations, Regulation 6 of the 2020 Regulations provide that an election to fill a casual vacancy that would have taken place in the period 16 March 2020 to 5 May 2021 (inclusive) will now take place on 6 May 2021.

Boxley Vacancy

This election will be held on Thursday 7 May 2020.

Notice of Vacancy

Marden Neighbourhood Plan Referendum

This referendum will be held on Thursday 27 February 2020.

Referendum Statement

Notice of Poll

Information for Voters

Past Borough, County, General and Parish Election Results

Past election results

Tovil Parish By-Election Results

Staplehurst Parish By-Election Results.

Other Past Election Results

One Maidstone Business Improvement District


On Friday 13 July 2018 there was a vote in favour of creating a Business Improvement District (BID) in Maidstone.

Number of votes cast excluding rejected ballots 176
Aggregate rateable value of each hereditament of those who voted £14,679,200
Number of votes in favour 135 (77%)
Aggregate rateable value of each hereditament of those who voted in favour £12,266,700 (84%)
Number of votes against 41 (23%)
Aggregate rateable value of each hereditament of those who voted against £2,412,500 (16%)

Rejected Ballots

Having the same number as another ballot paper 0
Unsigned, unmarked or voided for uncertainty 2


Ballot Papers Issued 475
Ballot Papers Received 178
Turnout 37%

European Parliamentary Election Results


There was a European Parliamentary Election on 23 May 2019 and here are the results.


Party Number of Votes Candidate Awarded Seat
1 The Brexit Party 915,686 Nigel Paul Farage
2 Liberal Democrats 653,743 Catherine Zena Bearder
3 The Brexit Party 457,843 Alexandra Lesley Phillips
4 Green Party 343,249 Alexandra Phillips
5 Liberal Democrats 326,872 Antony James Hook
6 The Brexit Party 305,229 Robert Andrew Rowland
7 Conservative and Unionist
260,277 Daniel Hannan
8 The Brexit Party 228,922 Belinda Claire De
Camborne Lucy
9 Liberal Democrats 217,914 Judith Bunting
10 Labour Party 184,678 John Howarth

Votes in Maidstone

Party or Candidates Votes in Maidstone Votes in South East Region
Change UK - The Independent Group 1,580 105,832
Conservative and Unionist Party 4,697 260,277
Green Party 4,530 343,249
Labour Party 2,437 184,678
Liberal Democrats 9,454 653,743
The Brexit Party 20,475 915,686
The Socialist Party of Great Britain 56 3,505
UK European Union Party (UKEUP) 127 7,645
UK Independent Party (UKIP) 1,062 56,487
McMahon, Jason Guy Spencer 55 3,650
Round, David Victor 32 2,606
Turberville, Michael Jeffrey 27 1,587
Total Number of Votes

Spoiled Ballots

Want of Official Mark 0
Voting for more than one Registered Party or Individual Candidate 46
Writing or Mark by which the voter could be verified 4
Unmarked or Void for Uncertainty 152

Result of Verification of Ballot Paper Accounts

Verification Details Number of Papers Issued Number of Ballot Papers VerifiedVariance
Verification of Ballot Papers 44,738 44,735 -3
Electorate (as at 9pm polling day) 118,258 Provisional Turnout 37.8%